How about a good ol' fashioned "what are my chances" thread?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

laserbeams

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here's the scoop. I'm a third year student at mid-range private school without a home program. Stats are as follows:

Step 1: High 230s (disappointing, I know)
Pre-clinical: P/F at my school; I did above average in most classes
Clinical: Honors in Pediatrics, HP in IM, FM and Surgery; have yet to complete OBGYN, Neuro and Psych
Research: ACRO abstract, ASTRO abstract (hopefully), non-rad onc presentation, a couple second/third author papers to be submitted
ECs: Strong leadership record, some volunteering, and I've worked a few jobs.
LoRs: TBD
"Extras": I work hard and generally get along well with folks

While I don't mean to sell myself short, I realize I'm not the strongest candidate the field has ever seen. Aside from doing as well as humanly possible in my remaining required clerkships, what should I plan on doing? My short-term goals include:

1) Step 2CK in June or July; aiming for a ~15+ point improvement over Step 1
2) Away rotations: three in total, with one at a "reach" spot and the other two at respectable institutions (July/Aug/Sept)
3) More research: aim to be productive during aways
4) LoRs: talk some good game with attendings, see where it gets me.

Longer-term goals: matching (anywhere). I like the patients more than anything, so I'm not sweating admission to Big Name Programs, just somewhere that'll teach me how to take care of people with cancer.

Carefully-worded guidance? Brutal honesty? I'm game. Also, thanks in advance -- this forum has been terribly anxiety-inducing but also very helpful.

Members don't see this ad.

So I recently finished interviews, and have yet to match, but since I came from a quasi-similar situation I thought I'd share what I picked up.