Hospice Volunteering for premeds

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oldpro

MS IV
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, as some know I was a Hospice nurse for 9 years, we had great volunteers, and I have suggested to many premeds to volunteer for Hospice as patient contact and volunteer hours, why are so many so negative about this suggestion? I mean what do they think becoming a Doctor will be like? People get sick and die in the hospital setting, doctors loose patients and I guarantee that when they get to clinicals then residency they will have patients die and they will be faced with this, why not start where they can have a lot of support and begin to understand life and death dynamics? I always felt Hospice was rewarding not to be shunned as some have posted to me.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I think it's just the classic fear of death in the US thing going on. You're right, it really is unfortunate. Although I have yet to work directly in a hospice setting, some of my most meaningful experiences as a resident thus far have been working with the palliative care docs and helping patients and their families navigate the dying process (as a team player, of course).

I would think doing hospice as a pre-med would be an outstanding experience. As I think back on my pre-med experiences, the one's that stand out the most involve the death of a patient in the hospital and being honored to be around during their passing.

I hope you continue to encourage pre-med's to get involved in hospice. However, I wouldn't be too harsh on the pre-meds who are scared of doing so. A lot of this is largely a social phenomena and has to do with pre-conceived ideas of what medicine is as well as a general fear of dying. A gentle education and encouragement seems like the best approach.