High School Students Shadowing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

goofball

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This article by a physician/bioethicist has been making the rounds. She makes thinly-veiled complaints that high school students are shadowing doctors and seeing patients.

Personally, 5 years ago, I was a high school student who shadowed doctors as well. I think it was invaluable in giving me a realistic look at the profession, in contrast to what you see on Grey's Anatomy.

Also, I don't understand where the "privacy" concerns are coming from. Even being allowed to shadow is a bureaucratic nightmare, and you'll pretty much only get the position if you've already volunteered there and been trained in HIPAA and various other sets of rules.

Hell, you won't be seeing ANY invasive procedures for a while, at least in my experience. Forget the patients, my attending would kick me out of the room whenever she had to do a pelvic exam or look at a penis.

Finally, you pretty much have to shadow as a high schooler if you want any shot at a BA/MD program.

I really think that Dr. Kitsis' piece doesn't give an accurate portrayal of what shadowing is vis-a-vis the students. What do you think?

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think it's necessary for a high school student to shadow a physician. Remove the student doctor introduction and replace it with "this is a high school student" and I'd be willing to bet that there would at least be a slight increase in refusals to observe. I know my mother and her friends and family would refuse.

What business does a teenager (who is not a student doctor) have observing a private examination? In my opinion, a shadow only becomes believable as a 'student doctor' once they've passed their freshman year of college.