Help me turn things around

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jaydid

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a categorical intern at a program that's known for being "tough," even for my notoriously also-"tough" (i.e. Ill-behaved!) specialty. I am concerned because I've gotten some fairly bad evals in the 3 months I've been here. I'm worried that I've pissed off the program director in the process as well.

Let me be clear. Most of my evals have been lukewarm/generic, which I'd expect given how little face time I've had with the majority of attendings I've worked with. The negative feedback I've gotten basically all boils down to time management, which is an area that I fully admit is very difficult for me. I do well in acute situations when I can hyperfocus on a very sick patient, and I have had a few good catches if I do say so myself (caught a PE, a post-op bleed and a couple of patients that were in early sepsis.) But these, of course, never seem to get mentioned (in fact, I'm not even sure if attendings are aware of them.) Thankfully, I'm naturally outgoing and even-tempered, and even the nastiest attendings put in comments about my good attitude, willingness to improve, and how I am easy to get along with.