Help me decide?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

naruto123

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! 28/F non-trad here trying to decide on a provider path! Absolutely no one in my personal life knows what to tell me so I thought I would reach out here for some thoughts!

My main interest is psychiatry (although many things in medicine interest me!) and I am completely torn between pursuing a psych NP degree or going to medical school.

I graduated from a private college with a 3.3ugpa in political science. I struggled my first two years because I was holding down two part time jobs in addition to a full college class load, but have a nice upward trend, graduating in the traditional 4 years! I only took an entry "forensic chemistry" course and otherwise avoiding science classes. Got a B+ in that chem course. Otherwise, I'm the first person in my family to graduate college - my parents were heroin addicts.

I completed all the nursing pre-reqs at the local community college this past year thinking I would pursue nursing school. Frankly because I was worried that I wouldn't be any good at science. I found out that I actually LOVED science classes and that with my new adult study skills (and my adhd medicated and under control), I aced everything except microbiology which I ended with a B+. Anatomy and Physiology 1&2, nutrition, Chem (for Nurses) were all As.

As I'm getting started on nursing applications, I have this nagging doubt in my mind that maybe I should apply to medical schools. After all, the midlevel job market is becoming saturated, the education isn't as good, and I really do love getting deeper into scientific knowledge. It's kind of incredible how little science the general population knows!

What's holding me back from going for medicine?
The huge amount of debt I'd be taking on
Fear that psych will become super competitive/generally of step exams