HELP! international medical graduate

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rmjonesy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am an optometry student at Cebu Doctors university in the Philippines. After I finish school in Cebu I want to come back to the U.S. to practice. What does an FMG have to do to be able to work as a doctor here in America. I am also an American citizen from Texas. I have been searching all over the web but I can't find a solid answer. Please help!

thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone, I am an optometry student at Cebu Doctors university in the Philippines. After I finish school in Cebu I want to come back to the U.S. to practice. What does an FMG have to do to be able to work as a doctor here in America. I am also an American citizen from Texas. I have been searching all over the web but I can't find a solid answer. Please help!

thanks in advance.

Unfortunately you may have to start over from scratch. Plus you will not have taken NBEO I, II, and III. You MAY get an OD school to give you some credits but probably not very many.

It's pointless and really stupid of me to have left the country to try and save tens of thousands of dollars in med school. Being an IMG really is horrible. Looks like I'm switching to engineering.

Members don't see this ad :)

thanks in advance.

From ASCO (Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry):
http://www.opted.org/i4a/pages/inde...to_practice_in_optometry_in_the_United_States

As a graduate of a foreign school/college, how do I become eligible to practice in optometry in the United States?