Grad School GPA versus Undergrad GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CarpeDiem1993

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, this is my first time posting here. So pretty exciting stuff.

I finished undergrad at a good public institution with a 4.0 GPA and 512 MCAT. Have an interest in understanding the larger policy picture of healthcare in addition to medicine, so have began an accelerated one year MPH program at Dartmouth Institute this fall. This program grades on a high pass (4.0), pass (3.0) and low pass (2.0) scale. They are VERY stingy with the high passes in many classes, giving out literally only 3% in many cases. In this class, there are physicians and healthcare professionals who are far more knowledgable in healthcare policy and articulating views than I cannot at this stage in my career. So, needless to say my GPA will take a hit.

Here is my question.

How do medical schools (MD) consider GPAs of incoming applicants?

I have seen many threads on here where people ask about masters programs raising their GPA, but I am in the opposite case. Afraid that it will really lower my current, strong, GPA.

1. Do adcomms consider uGPA over gradGPA or do they just throw it all together? While I am adding VERY valuable experiences in policy and working on papers to be published for research that will make me a way more well rounded applicant and person, will I be hurting myself because of the GPA factor?

2. Will they factor in my grad school program (Dartmouth) in evaluating my grad gpa (possibly 3.5-3.6)? Or will they simply treat it as any MPH program where many people easily walk their way to a 4.0?

3. I am a Texas Resident, will be using both TMDSAS and AMCAS. Any insight on how both services will present the gpa to the school would be much appreciated!

Thanks very much guys and gals. Sorry for the length of this post!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: