Georgia State DIY Post Bacc - too spread out?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pointodr

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all

I'm 30yo and work in finance. I graduated from Emory in 2009 with a degree in business and a 3.5 having taken most of the premed classes (all except bio 2 and organic 2) decided to pursue business, have always regretted it, and here I am!

I am considering quitting my job and starting a post bacc program at GSU this summer. Here's how it would look, roughly:

Summer:
Chem 1
Psychology

Fall:
Chem 2
Physics 1

Spring:
Organic 1
Physics 2

Summer:
Organic 2
Bio 1

Fall:
Bio 2
Biochemistry

Spring: MCAT and apply

So 5 semesters total, and I would use my free time to take an EMT course, work part time as an EMT, volunteer, shadow, take care of my son, etc.

How does this sound? I am worried that, due to my less than stellar undergraduate GPA, med schools will want to see a more rigourous course load in my post bacc, to prove that I can handle it. What do you think? Is 2 classes at a time while amassing extracurriculars and working part time enough? Or should I stretch myself more? It's worth noting that the minimum time it can be done in is 5 semesters, given the required sequence of classes, so the question is really if I should add extra classes.

Also, should I even retake all these classes, or go straight into upper level? I personally would like to re-take, as it's been 10+ years and I think it would help me for the MCAT. But how do med schools see it?

Thanks all

Members don't see this ad.

3.5 isn't that deficient. White matriculants have about a 3.75 on an SD of .25. So you're 30th percentile or so. Bump it to 3.7 with your postbac.

Why do you assume I'm white?

I have 160 credits already, so I can't bump it up to a 3.7 unless i take a LOT more credits. I could make it up to a 3.6 with a 4.0 post bacc.