Gen surg prelim to anesthesia?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sing robert

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this isn't the first time this has happened, but I really wanted to talk about this with some neutral people. I originally wanted to do general surgery, and didn't match because I didn't apply to enough places. I was super selective and then screwed myself over. Now I'm in a general surgery prelim and I don't feel like myself anymore. I don't eat regularly. I don't go to the gym. I barely read since I'm so tired from work. My upper levels give me a lot of sass and have been passive aggressive cause I'm a prelim resident. I am tired of doing this already and I'm only a month in. I originally thought I couldn't live doing anything other than surgery but now I feel like I have different goals for myself. I know I don't have the same passion for surgery that I once had, and I have been told if I could do surgery and something else and it wouldn't matter, I should pick the something else.