Future re-applicant. Urgent! Please Help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neverbackdownfighton

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN,

I am not sure where to begin; but here it goes. I went to Miami Dade College-Honors College, it is not a community college anymore. I graduated with an overall GPA of 3.9. I transferred to UNC-CH for my junior and senior year. During my first semester, I took Orgo 1, Molecular BIo/Genetics, Nutrition, History, Life fitness (requirement), and the lab for genetics. Unfortunately, I did not do so well on Orgo and Molecular Bio/Genetics; I got a D on both. I was not expecting it to be so hard. On my second semester, I began to study harder and began to improve my grades. I went from getting Cs, to getting Bs, and As, towards the end of my time there. I ended up graduating a semester early, at the end of the Fall semester 2012, from UNC with my bachelors in Biology; so that I could study for the MCAT. I ended up taking the MCAT over the spring semester and taking Orgo 1 and 2 (including labs) again in Miami Dade College (because it was cheaper and because I didn't have to apply to any transient student programs nor select a major to take the classes).I know I should have taken Orgo 1 and 2 elsewhere, like Florida International University or any other University; but I was having money issues. But I was in the top 5% of the class with the second highest grade in the class. I ended up getting As on Orgo 1 and 2, and a B and an A on the lab 1 and 2, respectively.

Here is my cumulative GPA so far (taken from my 2013 AAMC application for the year of 2014):
Cumulative Undergraduate 3.34 (BCPM) 3.73 (AO) 3.49(Total)