Future Optometrist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

damusiel

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am currently a high school student. I am very interested in the health field and want to be a optometrist. What are the pros and cons and what is the job outlook? Is it hard to get into optometry schools and what should I do in high school to prepare myself?

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I am currently a high school student. I am very interested in the health field and want to be a optometrist. What are the pros and cons and what is the job outlook? Is it hard to get into optometry schools and what should I do in high school to prepare myself?

Thanks!!

Get through undergrad first.

Shadow and come back in 3 years.

Reactions: 6 users
Hello,

Thanks!!
^
Although I do agree that you need get through undergrad first. There are still some small things that you can do in High School.
I would try taking AP classes that will get you College credits that can satisfy OD school prerequisites. It'll save you the difficulty of having to take it in undergrad which is usually much more difficult. Some schools will accept AP credits, you just need to look into that. Also try finding an optometry practice that you can shadow just so you can an early taste of it so you know what to expect!

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Shadow ODs, talk to ODs, then shadow and talk to different ODs. Ask all of them the same questions and compare answers. Then ask yourself why some ODs feel differently about Optometry than others.

Reactions: 1 user