Foreign pharmacist :internship in NYC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

braineddetermined

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm an Italian pharmacist (green card holder) planning to get licensed in NY and have a few questions: how hard is to get an internship ( either in retail or hospitals such as Cornell,HSS, Sloan-Kettering, Lenox Hill, Mount Sinai,etc) in NYC and whether is it paid or not? how many days/w do interns usually work ? what are the shift hours ?
Also I wonder what is like to work at Duane Reade or Riteaid ( so far I've been reading very negative posts on CVS/Walgreen)...Hope someone can help!

Members don't see this ad.

Hahahaah, a pharmacist with no US experience trying to land a job in the most saturated job market in the country?

Auguri!!

Reactions: 1 user
Up hill battle. Find connections and be persistent.

See posts on current BLS stats, HRSA stats, and Pharmacist Man Power stats for your desired region of employment to get an idea what you're up against.

Members don't see this ad :)
Up hill battle. Find connections and be persistent.

See posts on current BLS stats, HRSA stats, and Pharmacist Man Power stats for your desired region of employment to get an idea what you're up against.

Thank you for the advice! Do you also know whether internships are paid or not and what would be a decent pay in big cities ?

Thank you for the advice! Do you also know whether internships are paid or not and what would be a decent pay in big cities ?