For the clinical residents, does medicine even make a significant difference

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted263296

As a radiology resident, I just see the worst manifestations of disease on a daily basis - late stage cancers, cancer progression (vast majority of cases), devastating iatrogenic injuries. I am so detached from the world of clinical medicine, I don't even know if this is the norm. I am completely disillusioned with the profession, like we are perpetrating fraud, highly educated deceivers exerting herculean effort to prolong life for what? Just for patients to suffer longer? I have thought multiple times that if I were as sick as these people, I wouldn't even go to a hospital because I'd know the treatments are pointless and dangerous and the fight isn't worth the non-existent reward.

Of course, doctors can help treat pain and infectious disease quite well. But I am just wondering, are patient's outcome as bleak as they seem from the radiology reading room?

Members don't see this ad.

Nope. Let me relate my similar experience from the ED and why that view changed. After a few years, I started thinking less of humanity because of all the frequent flyer drunks/heroin addicts/malingerers that kept coming in week after week. I saw people get joint infections coming back through the ED for their 7th infection/3rd joint revision/amp whatever. I saw more spine surgeries go bad than I can recall to the point that when a family member was considering having spine surgery I wanted to scream at them not to do it. Same goes for the recurrent CHFers, COPDers, cancer patients who are constantly neutropenic and febrile despite ongoing therapy etc etc etc etc etc.....

It got really depressing.