FMG PM&R residency chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SilentNight

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there!

I am currently studying in Australia for my medical degree and wondered if anyone can guide me to getting a PM&R residency once I graduate. I really enjoy musculoskeletal medicine and PM&R is the top choice specialty for me. I still have 3 years left in medical school and would like to know:

How competitive is/will PM&R residency be for a US citizen FMG? What would be a competitive Step 1 score? What else can I do to improve my chances?

Ideally, I am looking into California programs and getting into a sports medicine fellowship. I am open to any other states. Do I have a shot at Stanford or UC Davis PM&R?

I really appreciate your insights!

Members don't see this ad.

There's a lot of DO's in PM&R and some Caribbean graduates, but very few foreign medical graduates that I've seen. There's also a huge expansion of American medical schools underway that's squeezing out what's left of the foreign graduates, most of whom gravitate towards Family Medicine and community Internal Medicine programs.

As for Stanford and UC Davis, those programs are very selective about who they even give interviews to.

If you are dead set on going to those programs them I would rec setting up rotations there and doing everything in your power to leave a lasting positive impression.

Members don't see this ad :)
There's a lot of DO's in PM&R and some Caribbean graduates, but very few foreign medical graduates that I've seen. There's also a huge expansion of American medical schools underway that's squeezing out what's left of the foreign graduates, most of whom gravitate towards Family Medicine and community Internal Medicine programs.

As for Stanford and UC Davis, those programs are very selective about who they even give interviews to.