Firefighter to MD hopeful

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ThinRedLine

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, long time lurker here. Finally decided it was probably time to ask some questions instead of just doing forum searches and scouting google. I have kind of a unique situation that doesn’t match any other posts I found. So apologies in advance for the long post. To very briefly summarize my background:

6 years Army combat medic (currently ‘part-time’ in the National Guard)
5 years full-time Firefighter/Paramedic

I’m also a licensed physical therapist assistant – got trained up from the military also. I work in PT a couple days a week during my days off from the Fire Department (extra income since we have 4 kids and wife doesn’t work). I really want to pursue medical school but there are some big challenges being a non-traditional student and my situation specifically. The main challenge right now is that I don’t have a bachelor’s degree – associate’s only. I also still need a lot of the science pre-requisites. The two routes to get to medical school that I’m looking at:

-Army PA School
Pros: Bachelor’s degree not required for admission, earn a master’s degree in 2 years, tuition-free, several science pre-reqs are the same for med school
Cons: 6 year commitment to the military, have to move to San Antonio for school and then a 2nd move to your clinical rotation site

-Bachelor’s degree through Northern Arizona University
Pros: No 6 year military commitment, able to complete the degree from Arizona without having to move multiple times
Cons: It will take 4 years as a half-time student (full-time isn’t possible for me with family and multiple jobs), not-tuition free, have to complete science pre-reqs separate from the degree