Fired from residency program. What do I do now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dakota45

Membership Revoked
Removed
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, first time poster here just desperately looking for advice on how to handle the situation I am in. I have been more or less sitting at home for the last few days in a state of paralysis trying to come to terms as to what has happened to me. I am currently/was a third year general surgery resident and was abruptly fired from my program on Friday for showing up for a rotation intoxicated. I have had a problem with alcohol since I was an undergrad and my alcoholism has recently gotten to the point that I need to drink intermittently throughout the day to function at my optimum. While I was moonlighting late last week, I was called to the PD's office and told that my residency program has a zero tolerance policy for alcohol/drug intoxication while on call, and that it results in an automatic dismissal. I have absolutely no clue on how to handle this mess that I have got myself in. Becoming a surgeon has been all I ever wanted to do since I was in high school and now less than 2 years out I have no program to train at. I also don't have skills in any other field whatsoever. Is reapplying to another program an option? Do you think there is some way for me to appeal the decision of my PD (even though he said the dismissal was final)? I could really use some advise right now as this about the lowest I have ever felt in my life to this point.

Members don't see this ad.

This is a bad place to be. The road back is possible, but very difficult.

1) You need to self report to your state medical board. Your program will likely report you anyway. You will need to enter treatment and monitoring. Goal number one is to save your license eligibilty.