Financially illiterate homeowner postdoc, need help with loan decisions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pirwrrrr

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello
I'm a financially irresponsible postdoc (phd) who is in need of help.
I was a part of this community before when I was a pre-med, but I ended up going to a phd program.

Currently, I have student loans from Dept of Ed/Navient, Navient and my school for a total of about $90000.
Last year, I had 0 taxable income although I will this year because I'm currently searching for a job.
The interest rates vary from 5.0 to 6.8 and average out to be 6.5%.
It seems that I'm given the options to consolidate and perhaps enroll in some type of income based repayment plans, but I'm confused about how to find out which ones I'd be eligible for and how to select which is most beneficial.
Is there a good website where I can find out how to decide and how ti find out whether my loans are eligible for the most favorable one?
Also, how does different level of income and/or net worth change the decision?

Thank you for any help!

Members don't see this ad.

Late to respond here, so there's a good chance you've already figured this out. Also I'm basing my response on a lot of unknowns (whether your married, have kids, current income if your employed now, whether you only temporarily wanted to sign up for income based repayment while you were unemployed or whether you wanted loan forgiveness, etc)

I'm not aware of any private lenders who offer income based repayment. Some will let you defer payments due to unemployment. Some will give you a higher interest rate with lower monthly payments. If you still have federal loans and want an income based repayment plan, don't refinance/consolidate all of your loans. You could refinance the ones that are already private.