Coursework & Fieldwork Fieldwork II

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OT.OT

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I'm a pre-ot student graduating from undergrad this semester. I was wondering if any current OT students had some insight on placement for Level II fieldwork. I will be attending school on the East Coast but would love to do my fieldwork on the West Coast or somewhere different from where I've grown up. I'm sure this varies a lot by program, but generally, how feasible is it to get placement out-of-state and do you need to have family/friends living in that state to be considered for placement out-of-state?

Members don't see this ad.

Your accommodations definitely plays a role in your ability to get placements. However, it really depends on the school. I know that North Carolina doesn't really accept out of state placements because they're reserved for NC students, for example. I would suggest trying to find upperclassmen at your school to ask them what the process is like!

Reactions: 1 user
It's possible but not guaranteed. I went to school in the east coast but was able to do my placement back home on the west coast. Fieldwork placement varies from school to school. This is a good question to ask when selecting schools. A contract is formed between the OT school and OT facility. If the school already has a relationship with the facility, then they can reuse preexisting contracts. If not, then a completely new one has to be draft. It truly depends on the school and fieldwork coordinator. It takes a lot more work on everyone for the student to practice out of state. I was fortunate to have fieldwork coordinators that were willing to advocate for their students and put in the extra work.

Members don't see this ad :)