Extracurriculars in Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HueySmith

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am mostly spending time trying to memorize all the information that is thrown at me on a daily basis in medical school. I don't even think about joining any clubs, holding any leadership position, or volunteering, because I don't think I can handle that much on my plate! Will residency program directors reject me as a potential resident solely because of my lack of involvement in anything? I don't want to be a fourth year with nothing on my CV, and cannot even land a spot in family medicine :(.

Members don't see this ad.

What year are you in?

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm not experienced in applying for residencies, so that's the preface.

However, I think if you feel like you're barely treading water, there's no reason to jeopardize your academics by jumping into EC's. Sure, it's great to have EC's for many reasons. But you know what PDs really like? Board scores. Interpersonal skills. Interest in the field. Interest in the program. Then somewhere down the line, EC's. My humble opinion is to only do EC's if you feel like you can handle them. Maybe join a couple of clubs that are little/no time commitment just to have something in your CV. But don't commit yourself to 10 hours a week in a leadership position if you need that 10 hours to study. Not many programs will want you if you have a mountain of EC's and a 200 step score. You need to demonstrate your aptitude. Hopefully this helps!

Reactions: 1 user