Experience before applying to ENDO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dudeitsme

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a recent graduate from dental school. I've been working for the past 3 months and I've been soaking up as much experience that I can in endo. as I can in the private practice setting. I've been trying to learn more through endo. CE's as well.

If I would like to make myself as competitive as possible before applying for the opening 2017 cycle next year-- what do I need to do to get as much 'experience' as possible?

I understand most programs want experience--- but does that mean as a GP and in terms of efficiency and speed as a GP... or would they like me to get as much ENDO experience working as a general dentist?

Obviously as much endo experience is preferred- but what do they specifically look for when programs want EXPERIENCE?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm sorry I don't have an answer to your question (maybe bumping it will help), but I have a few questions myself: How many years of experience will you have before applying and how many years of experience do you feel most endo programs like to see?

My understanding is experience as a GP, whether AEGD, GPR, private practice or military is what that means mainly. However, some of that should include endo experience. By having a good understanding of general dentistry, you will have a better understanding of endodontics, pain, and restorability. Extra CE courses in endo will show your continued interest, so it can't hurt. But I think it mainly refers to GP experience.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)