EM/IM rotations, letters, matching, ect.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NOsaintsfan

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a second year student that's considering the EM/IM combined training. I'm hoping to get a little insight on how to best evaluate and go about matching into such programs. When setting up away rotations do you try to do sub-i's in both EM and IM at that same program? When going through applications and interviews do you interview with both departments or do they have a combined interview? Is it frowned upon if you don't rotate through both IM and EM departments in the same program? I assume its best to have 2 IM letters and 2 SLOR's right? Thanks in advance for any insight.

Members don't see this ad.

I can offer some insight as I applied to 10/12 programs and will be ranking my top 4 with EM/IM programs.

I found out August of last year about EM/IM, when I was paired up with a CC fellow during my ICU rotation. She was an EM/IM graduate and is currently finishing her 2 year CC fellowship.

So from what I've gathered on the trail, EM/IM has historically not been THAT competitive, granted most take about 2-3 residents per year. I think this year there was a large number, maybe around 100, that one PD told me. In any case, most PDs know that you'll be applying EM or IM as a "backup" so my advice is to decide first what your backup specialty is, EM or IM and then proceed accordingly. If IM, do your subI early and use that letter and if EM do at least two aways and use the SLOEs. The programs want at least 1 IM and 1 EM LOR; fill the others with whatever although I think many prefer the EM SLOE.

I'll tell you this, most applicants I met on the trail also found about EM/IM very late and thus you don't have to do an away at a place with EM/IM, rather just pick one and do one only if you really want to get an interview somewhere.