EM/IM program reviews

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

surlypremo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering if any applicants/current residents/alumni of the EM/IM programs would be willing to offer their insight about various programs. I found the reveiws about residency programs on the EM side very helpful, but have yet to find this type of information about combined EM/IM programs. If this was brought up before and I missed it let me know.

I have been through the search function here and most forums have people debating whether or not they think the combined programs are a good or bad idea in general (i.e. this is not the intent of this post!!).

Members don't see this ad.

Stay away from Allegheny General in Pittsburgh...their IM program is malignant...I had a personal tragedy, had to take time off and was dropped like a bag of garbage

I am a current resident/fellow in the Henry Ford EM/IM/Critical Care program. We have both a 5 year EM/IM and a 6 year EM/IM/CC tract. Both our EM and IM residencies are very strong programs. Our critical care fellowships are equally respected, and we have one of the largest ICU's in the country. We are unique in that we are a tertiary/quaternary private hospital in an urban setting with a mission to teach. It is rare that you find the perfect balance of a county, univerisity and community hospital all under one roof.

We have an incredible range of pathology. We are the home of Dr Rivers and Early Goal Directed Therapy. We provide an incredible amount of Critical Care right in the ER. All departments are equally strong, and there is no malignancy.

It is a tough and rigorous program, but you finish with the best training you can get anywhere.

If you are interested in EM/IM or EM/IM/CC, you need to come check out this program.

Members don't see this ad :)
Good thread surlypremo :)