EC's - Administrative Hospital Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JohnDorian13

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I apologize if this has been asked before but I tried the search function and was unable to find anything. I was just accepted back to school so I am planning to leave my career to go back full-time and take my pre-reqs.

My question is about EC's and whether I need to do additional while I am in school. When I leave work I will have worked at hospitals for the last thirteen years including the last three as Chief Operating Officer. These hospitals have ranged from a small highly rural hospital to a a 600 bed academic medical center where I managed a $800M budget and had over 2000 staff in my services. I worked my way in to the position over ten years after starting as a Housekeeper so I have demonstrated the ability to move up.

Although I have some clinical experience (the quality department reported to me) and have been involved in a lot of clinical committees and decision making I don't have any direct patient care. Should I volunteer or shadow while I am going to school? I don't mind doing it but I would prefer to focus on my classes to ensure a great GPA since I am leaving my career for this.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

What are you going to say when asked how you know you are suited for a life of caring for the sick and suffering? “That you just know”? Imagine how that will go over!

Here's the deal: You need to show AdComs that you know what you're getting into, and show off your altruistic, humanistic side. We need to know that you're going to like being around sick or injured people for the next 40 years.

Here's another way of looking at it: would you buy a new car without test driving it? Buy a new suit or dress without trying it on??