Dual MD and DVM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SkyeDJR

The Skye's the Limit!
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

This is my first time posting - it's neat to find a forum like this!

I'm interested in finding others who might be in a similar situation as mine, and in hearing ideas on how I can dovetail several strong interests into one (fun) career.

As background, I am Canadian, an MD (1995), board certified in Family Medicine (CCFP) and in Emergency Medicine (CCFP-EM), and have practiced in both disciplines off and on since 1999.

I am also a DVM (2003) and am currently finishing up a 3-year combined residency and DVSc (Doctor of Veterinary Science) in Zoo Animal Medicine and Pathology. This training will give me a post-doc degree (one tiny notch down from a PhD), clinical experience in exotic animal medicine and conservation issues, and eligibility to sit the American College of Zoological Medicine board exam. My DVSc also has exposed me to clinical/benchwork research, which I really enjoy.

Soooooo ... any ideas on what to do next? My main priority is to earn an income now after over two decades of paying tuition (ack!!), but a close second in the priority department is to have a career that is fun, challenging, and inspires passion.

Does anyone else here know of a dual MD/DVM, particularly one who practices in both disciplines?

Thanks!
Skye

Members don't see this ad.

SkyeDJR said:
Does anyone else here know of a dual MD/DVM, particularly one who practices in both disciplines?

I can't even conceive of how you might use both disciplines other than in academia (unless you find some pocket of lycanthrope :) ) I suggest you pick one.

Lab animal medicine working for a pharmaceutical company, or other industry jobs/research. Public health, military or government, CDC etc. Especially with the path background; there are lots of options.

Pathognomonic
DVM 2000
MD ?