Dual Enrollment Credits

panicky2000

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey I'm new to SDN and I have seen numerous posts about dual enrolling. From what I understand, many med schools prefer that you take prereqs at a 4 year university, correct?

Well, I am part of a dual enrollment program where I finish my last two years of high school along with my first two years of college, earning a high school diploma and an AA (not AS) degree. All of the classes I take are college classes at a local college (it used to be a community college, but it's not anymore). In terms of premed reqs, I will have taken Gen Chem 1 and 2 (both with labs), Calc 1, Statistics (taken over the summer), Bio 1 (with lab). I am a HS junior and soon, I will be applying to college as a freshman, not a transfer. Those are the program rules. I know that some colleges may take my credits, some won't.

Is it bad if I don't retake these classes at a 4 year uni? Are there still some med schools that would accept me (assuming my other scores are also good obviously)? I am not only aiming for top tier schools. My college GPA is currently a 4.0.

Also, when should I take the MCAT? Assuming the college I go to accepts all my credits, wouldn't I have a junior standing? I won't have taken ochem, biochem, or physics yet, which I have heard are important to take the MCAT. I could take some of these classes in my first year at that college (my third/junior year overall), but would I still be able to take the MCAT in time to apply and go to med school without taking an extra year or something?

One more thing. I have heard of Early Assurance programs, like Northeastern, where you are admitted to med school without having to take the MCAT. However, many require certain prereqs done before your junior year, some of which I don't have. Does this mean I would not be eligible for these programs at all?

Sorry this is long, but I would appreciate any feedback!

Members don't see this ad.