This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

km3

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

So I've been accepted to PT school at NYMC (graduated this past January-- I'm 21), but I had a change of heart and realized physical therapy isn't my passion-- medicine is. I've always been involved in sports and wasn't really sure what I wanted to do career-wise so I went with physical therapy since it seemed to be the closest to my interests and I definitely wouldn't mind doing it. However, after shadowing experiences, I realized the field was too narrow scope for my liking and I'd love to learn more. I'd love to pursue an MD.

Anyway, my stats are not too great. But I also haven't taken many of the prereqs for med school. I haven't taken Orgo 1, Orgo lab, or biochem.

I plan on going back to school for my post-bacc and completing these courses:
Orgo 1
Orgo lab
Biochemistry
Microbiology
Genetics
Maybe orgo 2?

I graduated with a B.S. in Kinesiology & Health
Cum GPA: 3.515
Science GPA: 3.00 (Edit: It's actually 3.08)

With the science courses I still have to take, I'm hoping to raise my GPA. Also, there is a tremendous improvement in my grades between freshman and senior year. I went from mostly C's/B's (due to a health issue) to all A's junior and senior year.

I have close to 700 hours of experience in PT clinics (as a PT aide and volunteer in 2 diff places), gymnastics coaching experience, dental office receptionist work-- I know I'd need to get more shadowing and research experience before applying to med school, just giving you the gist of my background.