DPT student need advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

msrya

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first time posting in Student doctor network, but I really need some advice. I have completed my first year of DPT school in florida, and really am starting to hate it. I came to graduate school excited to be in this profession, but it feels as though I have lost what made me what to come to pt school to begin with and am not happy anymore at school. I don't know what to do, I've felt this way for 3 mo now and thought it was a funk that I would get past this but it's not getting any better. Any advice would be welcome, has anyone tried to transfer DPT programs? maybe that would make this a little better being in a new place?

Members don't see this ad.

Well, the real question is what do you hate about it? Your professors? A specific class or topic? The stress or the pace of learning? Your apartment, classmates, roommates, or town you live in? If you're genuinely starting to hate PT, as in the profession, then a transfer won't help. You should also know before trying to take such a step (though I'm not 100% sure on this), that you can't transfer DPT programs like you can undergrad programs. Most programs will make you start over.

I agree with pegasuscvc in identifying what exactly it is you hate about PT school. I would also go one step further and ask yourself what is it that you want for your life in 10, 20, 40 years from now? I'm curious to know. Please share what you come up with msrya. I'm personally a PT looking to change careers at the age of 31 but I do not regret pursing PT. It's a good profession and definitely has it perks.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)