DPT + PhD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DollarNaDream

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone have any information or guidance regarding going into a PhD after graduating? I'm currently a DPT student, (My school does not offer a joint PhD Program) and I'm looking into PhD programs because I eventually want to go into academia and I'm genuinely interested in research.

I'm looking into science based PhD's, Neuroscience in particular. Anyone gone through a similar order, DPT then Science PhD and have any advice? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Does anyone have any information or guidance regarding going into a PhD after graduating? I'm currently a DPT student, (My school does not offer a joint PhD Program) and I'm looking into PhD programs because I eventually want to go into academia and I'm genuinely interested in research.

I'm looking into science based PhD's, Neuroscience in particular. Anyone gone through a similar order, DPT then Science PhD and have any advice? Thanks.

Work for a few to moderate amount of years and then head back for it. If you don't have a joint then I assume you don't have funding. Take care of loans while working in a niche. Many many therapists that have contributed to the rehab literature worked for years before returning.

Neuro is exciting if you can work with those patients. Work with vents for cardiopulm, orthotics and prosthetics for ortho and postop, and creating practice parameters for pediatrics are all areas to look into for PhD work.

First take care of yourself though. Hope that helps