DO's and Academic IM Residency - Realistic?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

meliora27

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a third year DO student planning on applying to ACGME IM residencies. I'm starting to do some research on programs and come up with some places that I think I may have a realistic chance at matching. I was hoping for some "straight talk" from those who have gone through this already on realistic expectations. Obviously I will not stand much/any chance at the very top places but I was wondering how competitive I would be.

Preclinical Grades: B's
USMLE Step 1: 23x
Clerkships: Mostly Honors (including IM)
NBME Shelf Scores: Honors (do these get recorded anywhere?)
Research: 5 months of bench research. 2 posters. 1 manuscript pending
Step 2: Pending

Would I be competitive for what's talked about on SDN as "mid-tier"?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldn't get too hung up on what SND considers mid-tier. I've seen threads where Myoclinic and Vanderbilt were counted under the mid-tier category.

Besides, I think your question has been answered like +100 times on SDN if you do some searching.

I wouldn't get too hung up on what SND considers mid-tier. I've seen threads where Myoclinic and Vanderbilt were counted under the mid-tier category.

Besides, I think your question has been answered like +100 times on SDN if you do some searching.

No we dont

OP, yes you would be a candidate for the mid-tier which includes most university programs not in the top 30 or so. You need to apply to community programs as a backup as well until you have enough interviews to feel comfortable. IM has become more competitive each year.

Members don't see this ad :)