Doing a Critical Care Sub Internship next month - need suggestions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

parcus

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am a FMS who will be doing a critical care sub-internship next month (40 days, approximately). I wonder what you guys think is the best way to learn the basics about critical care during this time. I am thinking about using Oxford Desk Reference Critical Care, but not sure if that's the best idea. Any suggestion would be much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello, I am a FMS who will be doing a critical care sub-internship next month (40 days, approximately). I wonder what you guys think is the best way to learn the basics about critical care during this time. I am thinking about using Oxford Desk Reference Critical Care, but not sure if that's the best idea. Any suggestion would be much appreciated!
As a med student, I took an eclectic approach. I really liked certain sections of the ICU Book. I would sometimes try to read the corresponding topic in Marik's book (prn) for comparison too, but that is probably too much. There's also a NEJM introduction to critical care series that I thought very good (at least the ones I read, e.g., sepsis and septic shock, circulatory shock, resus fluids). UpToDate on key topics too.

I believe if you know the main things like airway and vent management, hemodynamic monitoring, vasopressors, ARDS, sepsis, acid-base and electrolytes, etc. you should probably be good.

Reactions: 1 user
There are some pocket guides, but I honestly don't know how helpful they are.

This is a good book to have:
Amazon product