Does Research Improve Residency Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WaterLogged

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am new to this site, so please forgive me if this has been addressed. I am an MSII Navy HPSP student and I was curious to know if doing research (either civilian or through Navy clerkship) really enhances one's chance of being accepted to a particular residency program (i.e. Emergency Medicine). If anyone has any input on this matter, it would be greatly appreciated.

~WaterLogged

Members don't see this ad.

Research helps.

http://nshs.med.navy.mil/gme/GME2FAQ.HTM#2

Q: I read in the BUMEDNOTE 1524 that GME applications are scored by three specialty committee members, one from each of the different branches of service. Then, these three scores are added up for a composite score. This really seems to put me at a disadvantage since two of the scoring members don’t even know me. How can I get the best possible score?