DO vs. MD for a Canadian interested in pathology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Future.miss.doctor

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I have been accepted into a great DO school that I feel very comfortable at. I did not apply to any MD schools in the last application cycle. I am a Canadian student and I have always been interested in pathology. I got the impression from many people that it would be easy for me to match in pathology in the US. However, some people are telling me that an MD would significantly improve my chances of getting into pathology as not all programs sponsor visas to Canadian DOs. I know for US citizens the chances for matching into pathology are almost the same for both DOs and MDs. My questions are:

1) Is there a significant number of pathology programs that would only take MDs and not DOs?

2) Is there a significant number of pathology programs that would only sponsor visas for MD grads rather than DO grads?

3) Would it really be worth deferring my acceptance to the DO school to spend another year reapplying to MD schools?

4) (Canadian residents might be able to answer this). Would having an MD rather than a DO significantly improve my chances at matching in Canada, given that a) every year there has been many unfilled positions in pathology in Canada, therefore it should logically be easy to match as a DO in the unfilled positions at least, b) although it is said on paper that US MD grads match in the first iteration as Canadian MD grads, would this practically still be true? I would imagine program directors giving preference to Canadian MD grads than to US MD grads, which means that US MD grads end up competing for the remaining spots, just like DOs would in the second iteration and the IMG match.

Any insight is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone,