Do top tier pathology residencies take osteopathic medical students?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Percivall

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a 3rd year DO student and I am interested in doing a pathology residency, preferably at a top tier program. I got a 259 on my USMLE step 1, thus far I have only undergraduate research in histology. I am aware that, for the most part, pathology residencies are not known for their competitiveness. However, I also see that ALL, as in every freaking one, of the residents at top tier programs such as Mass General and Hopkins are MDs. This is somewhat distressing since I can bet that my score is likely higher than many of the current residents but it gives the impression that the program will disregard my application as a result of my status as a DO.

Also, Hopkins path specifically says "we take MD graduates".

Any advice or information is appreciated. Thank you very much!

Members don't see this ad.

Also, I am not sure if they even look at and/or understand how the COMLEX is scored but I got an 812, which may very well be the highest score in the country this year. Thus, you can see why I would be angry to be rejected simply because I am a DO.

Give it a whirl, but short answer, is "probably not." You may not like it, and it may not be fair, but these guys can take who they want, and in general the top tier programs are looking for MD grads with huge numbers and publishing backgrounds.

My question to you is: why do you want to go to a top tier program?

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)