DO student needing advice whether/when to take USMLE step II CK

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DO???

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have received mixed messages on whether/when I should take USMLE step II CK and I was hoping for some advice. I am a 3rd yr DO student interested in either EM/IM/Critical Care-still trying to decide. My step I score was a 254 and Level I score was a 742. Should I take step II CK? I would like to do an ACGME residency. My concern would be if my step II score goes down would that be worse than not taking the exam at all? Rotations are keeping me very occupied and this is one of the reasons I am concerned for the possible drop in score. Thanks for reading!

Members don't see this ad.

I understand your position. I also have competitive step1/level1, and debated for the longest time if I should take step2. Eventually I decided to take the test. I'll get my score in 3 weeks and I truly hope I don't regret my decision.

You don't need to do better on step2 to remain competitive. This advise only applies to those with low step1. However, you should also make sure you score 240+ to maintain your above average status.

I understand your position. I also have competitive step1/level1, and debated for the longest time if I should take step2. Eventually I decided to take the test. I'll get my score in 3 weeks and I truly hope I don't regret my decision.

You don't need to do better on step2 to remain competitive. This advise only applies to those with low step1. However, you should also make sure you score 240+ to maintain your above average status.
I appreciate the input, it is a very difficult decision to have to make. I wish you the best. I guess I should take a few NBMEs again as I get closer and determine from there. Hard predicament for sure.

Reactions: 1 user