Do I stand a chance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Crusader2576

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a sophomore student athlete who has decided to change his major from business to pre-dental last semester. I have fallen in love with the dental field, but would I have a chance to get in Dental school with my current GPA being a 2.3? I was always a great student in high school, but honestly I would have to say that I have been lazy as far grades go in college so far. Waking up at 5 each day to workout/have football practice and then going to class 30 minutes prior is no easy feat. I am truly willing to push to become a dentist, but I'd like to know if I stand any sort of chance in doing so with my current GPA.

Thanks

(I have not taken any important sciences up this point either such as gen chem, ochem, or biology)

Members don't see this ad.

If you applied with a 2.3 the chances of you getting in are probably near if not zero, just start taking your prereqs and try to pull up your GPA from this point

Yeah, I definitely wouldn't be applying no time soon.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
2.3=sudden death rejection. Aim for above 3.0 at least. Even then a DAT of 21AA+ minimum.

You need to bring your GPA to 3.0 or above. Maybe retake some of the classes you did not do well in. Change your study habits. Also, you need to have at 21+ DAT as mentioned above. How are your EC/Volunteering?

You need to bring your GPA to 3.0 or above. Maybe retake some of the classes you did not do well in. Change your study habits. Also, you need to have at 21+ DAT as mentioned above. How are your EC/Volunteering?

Would re-taking classes be a negative to schools? And I have plenty of volunteer work done & I plan to have at least 600 shadowing hours as well

Many schools wont even look at your application with a sub 3.0
Retaking isn't bad, but keep in mind that they average the grades.