Do I have a chance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lex206158

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a senior with a terrible case of pessimism in an environment where everyone seems to be mindlessly cheering me on. My big problem is my GPA. I currently have a 2.7 GPA (I'm in my last semester in college) at a good public college. My GPA is so low because I had a very bad year two years ago (a lot going on) and that tanked my GPA.

Besides my GPA, however, (not meaning to toot my own horn) I have an exceptional number of extracurriculars and leadership positions (many related to the health-field) as well as the fact that I've been an EMT for several years. I can also get good recommendations from a doctor, nurse practitioners, and several of my professors.

I am currently looking into post-bacc programs but just don't know if I can even get into that. Any schools in particular that may consider me? If not, I just want the reality of whether I should still consider this route.

To be blunt, I love medicine. I knew I wanted to be a doctor when I was a child and truly fell in love with it after all of my experiences in college.

My main question is: do I really still have a chance?
Or should I consider other paths?

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently a senior with a terrible case of pessimism in an environment where everyone seems to be mindlessly cheering me on. My big problem is my GPA. I currently have a 2.7 GPA (I'm in my last semester in college) at a good public college. My GPA is so low because I had a very bad year two years ago (a lot going on) and that tanked my GPA.