DO gastro

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wjs010

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't know how the fellowships will work with the new merger, but is it realistic for a DO to go into gastro? Im an incoming student and really like gastro physiology... Just an option for the future. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Generally people really like gastro procedures/payments but physiology works too.

It is certainly realistic for DOs to match into GI. Just hope you like research.

Generally people really like gastro procedures/payments but physiology works too.

It is certainly realistic for DOs to match into GI. Just hope you like research.
Never done true research but will be glad to if needed.. Anything to improve my chances. I actually do like the physiology. I like cardio too but I feel like it's too much ECG .. I probably do have a superficial interest with GI but it's there nevertheless. I'm glad to hear DOs can cut it! I heard the salary is good but not really because of reimbursements.

So any GI route is always 3 yr gen med/ 3 yrs of GI? Thanks a lot for the tip.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yeah it is always 3+3 for GI. DOs have their own fellowships for GI as well (though most are in MI).

Research or some kind of publications are necessary for any of the competitive subspecialties

Def possible for DO's to get into ACGME GI. I am a DO about to start ACGME GI fellowship in so cal. Feel free to PM if you have any questions.

Reactions: 2 users
My GI doc is a DO. N=1 but whatever, it is possible to match GI as a DO. I'm assuming you are going to have to work you butt off (pun intended) just like if you were applying as an MD