Disability insurance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OphthoApplicant04

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can anyone share their experience with various disability insurance policies? Is there a particularly good one for ophthalmologists? I am currently a resident.

Members don't see this ad.

The best options for you are Guardian, Ameritas, Principal, Standard, Ohio National, or Mass Mutual. All of them have a true own specialty definition for your specialty and the policies do not offset for future income if you are unable to do your specialty that you were doing at the time of claim. Best of luck, let me know if we can help further.

Reactions: 1 user
I went through this very same search last summer. I had a previous policy I purchased during residency for $5000/month thru Standard, but then after fellowship, I decided it was time to get fully covered. It was cheaper for me to apply for a new, separate policy and do the medical underwriting- which I didn't need to do for my residency policy. And then, cancel the Standard policy.

After looking at all the different quotes and coverages, it came down to Ameritas and Berkshire Guardian. The Ameritas plan is much more robust for the $. The Provider Limited was almost the same price, but didn't have as many benefits. The full Guardian is the very best plan, but also the most expensive one.

Ameritas changed their occupation rating for ophthalmology sometime in the last 1-2 years and it made the premiums much better priced. Still a lot! [I pay ~$7800/year for $15k/month, up to age 67.]

Do your research and compare different agents- be sure to talk to someone who sells all the different companies so they aren't trying to sell you one product b/c they get commission. I compared quotes for various sources and my original residency agent still had the best deal- even for the same policy and same company- just bigger discount.