This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LizardQueen

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I'm going to try and keep this as short as possible. Basically I'm a first year medical student who is studying outside of the UK (my home country) and I intend to apply to the US in the future for residency programs.
Now, I want to clarify that I haven't been officially diagnosed with depression* but I finally got the guts to make an appointment with a doctor to discuss what's wrong with me so I'm going end of this week. BUT. I'm doubting this decision now.

If I do get officially diagnosed with it, will I have to reveal this on any application or interview that I have/had depression at some point? Same if I'm applying for UK if there's anyone who knows the process from there? I'm wondering whether I should just cancel my appointment and somehow fight it out if it means I won't get into residency programs, because I have to admit, the stigma with mental health is still there. I know it sounds really bad to think that I shouldn't get help or have it on my medical records but I don't want it to affect my chances in the future.