Dealing with an inappropriate med school rotation coordinator

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Posted for a member

"I am a current US medical student who has not yet done clinical rotations. In the recent past, I saw a physician who works for the university health service for a medical issue, and had a deeply unpleasant experience. The physician in question behaved in a grossly unprofessional manner (fell asleep during the intake interview, rolled his eyes at me while awake), did not appear to have read a word of my chart or be interested in listening to what I was saying (accused me of drug-seeking for something I had told him I was unable to tolerate literally five minutes before), and was dangerously incompetent (told me to try an herbal supplement that could, in fact, kill me due to the chronic medication I am on). It was sufficiently egregious that I filed a formal complaint with the health service against him.

Lo and behold, it turns out now that he seems to have supervisory duties for medical student rotations in his specialty. I don't want to be in the same room as him, let alone be evaluated by him (I can't believe that the health service managed to keep my complaint strictly confidential). What is the graceful and prudent way to make sure he can't fail me out of spite?"

If you are assigned to a site where he is a supervisor and has a role in evaluating you, then you need to talk to one of the dean's at your school and explain the situation, perhaps without all of the details you described above. There really aren't many other options here.

Of course, it's quite possible this person won't remember you? But still, I'd wait and see if you are assigned duty at their place and then talk to a dean.

Members don't see this ad.