Current DA anxious about skills in dental school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Eva_Unit01

I mustn't run away.
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I am a current DA, but I'm not very good at it.

To be fair to myself, I have only had a months of actual hands on assisting experience. I was hired as a back-up assistant and mostly just clean rooms. My last DA job I worked only one day a week and we only did composite fillings with one or two other procedures thrown in the entire time I worked there. I can't read x-rays and when I do get put in a room (another assistant is on vacation/out sick/grabbed for a quick recement) I find myself fumbling a bit. I don't feel confident at all.

I've been filling in for another assistant for a few weeks now, and I'm getting better and quicker during this time, but I still find myself making stupid mistakes. Like with the garrison/matrix system, I find myself handing my doctor the wrong instrument. She's usually pretty nice about it, but I just feel so dumb when I do it. I know she gets frustrated with me.

My concern is this - if I am not a good assistant, how can I expect to be a good dentist? Am I being too hard on myself or is this a real problem?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all. I am a current DA, but I'm not very good at it.

To be fair to myself, I have only had a months of actual hands on assisting experience. I was hired as a back-up assistant and mostly just clean rooms. My last DA job I worked only one day a week and we only did composite fillings with one or two other procedures thrown in the entire time I worked there. I can't read x-rays and when I do get put in a room (another assistant is on vacation/out sick/grabbed for a quick recement) I find myself fumbling a bit. I don't feel confident at all.