CRNA vs. Anesthesiologist Surgery Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scrubs421

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
N/A

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi Everyone,

I am a big fan Anesthesiology and toyed with the idea of entering the field. I am a current resident in another field in need of an operation next week that is relatively routine (1-1.5 hr procedure). However, I expressed to the surgeon and his staff that I do NOT want a CRNA (I believe in "your" field's training) caring for me during the operation (MD/DO Anesthesiologist only)

I was informed that an Anesthesiologist would be present for induction intubation/extubation. But, there is a circulating CRNA who may come to the room to watch over me. This concerns me less. However, I am not sure how big a "stink" to make about it. I pushed pretty hard about not wanting a CRNA.

I appreciate everyone's thoughts and inputs. I will continue to be your advocate outside your speciality.

Is this a hospital or surgery center?
I don't work with CRNAs anymore, but my previous groups always accommodated patients with this request if we knew in advance. Sometimes we could accommodate day of surgery. I would find out who is the chair of the anesthesia group and talk with him/her.
I don't blame you. If I don't know and can't handpick my CRNA I'd rather have a doc.

Hi Everyone,

I am a big fan Anesthesiology and toyed with the idea of entering the field. I am a current resident in another field in need of an operation next week that is relatively routine (1-1.5 hr procedure). However, I expressed to the surgeon and his staff that I do NOT want a CRNA (I believe in "your" field's training) caring for me during the operation (MD/DO Anesthesiologist only)