Considering HSPS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aalhafidh

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I am a Pre-Dent student who is currently waiting for Dental Schools to get back to me after secondaries. I've been researching the HSPS and discussing it with my family. I want to know exactly what the pros and cons are. My main beef, I guess, is the "active duty". I tried to do some research in this, but I never got specifics. Do they send you to war? Is it dangerous? Is it boot camp?

It would be great if someone who has completed HSPS can give me a quick rundown with a timeline of what I should expect.

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, you do go to boot camp where R. Lee Ermey yells at you while you do pushups in the mud. You will probably be the one who gets beaten by the other recruits with socks filled with soap bars.

You will get deployed and it is dangerous. As a dentist you will be sent into almost impossible situations where it is unlikely you will make it out.

If you happen to survive the war you can apply to the ortho program.

That is all.

Reactions: 1 user
Read through the Ask an Army, Air Force, Navy Dentist threads. Most of your concerns have been addressed one way or another in there.

While LTD is obviously being funny, he makes some good points. It is "service". It's about the mission of the service you decide to join and not about you. I think many people forget that.

Can you deploy? Yes. It's the military. We are at war and have been for quite some time. Some deployments are more dangerous than others. Does it matter which service? or Is it more dangerous in one service over another? No. Each service has people deployed to different places and some are more dangerous than others. It is war. Not trying to be harsh here, but trying to be real.