USMLE Competitive Residency For An IMG From India Or An Easy Residency And A Fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BuddingDoctor97

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I am a second year medical student from India and I have a few questions to ask. They are as follows:

1. What are my chances of securing a spot in a competitive residency such as the ROAD specialties for example? (Radiology, Ophthalmology, Anesthesiology or Dermatology) From what I have read on this forum so far, Dermatology and Ophthalmology are completely out of the league, even for some AMGs so if I wanted to match into Radio or Anesthesia, what can I start doing from now? I haven't taken the steps yet. I'm right at the start of the journey so if anyone could lay out a list of things I should do, it would be really nice. :)

2. If my dream of getting into a competitive residency is too high to aim for, then would you suggest I do a relatively "easy" "IMG friendly" specialty such as IM or Peds and then proceed to a fellowship?(which would be competitive as well)

P.S. Please do not bombard me for looking at the competitive specialties only. I'm just starting out and I am not done with many rotations so right now I pretty much like everything. Please excuse the high spirits.
I am an average medical student and I plan on settling in the US, if that helps.

Thank you everyone. :)

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone.

I am a second year medical student from India and I have a few questions to ask. They are as follows: