Comparing 2nd and 3rd Year with 1st year of Podiatry School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

E E Smith

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
How would you compare your 2nd and 3rd year of Podiatry School to your 1st? A lot of people always talk about how they like/dislike their school... but how does it change/contrast to 1st?

Name your school talk about fall and spring, summer of 1st year and compare it with your 2nd and 3rd year. Hope we get every school represented on here. It be intresting to see what you found to be strong/good about your school compared to what you don't like/thought could be better. BtW 4th years and recent graduates can comment to. Id just like a recent description of how things are at your podiatric medical school

Members don't see this ad.

Hello I am a 2nd year student at Western University. I'm about to finish my 3rd semester and I would say the main difference between 1st year and 2nd year is critical thinking. During 1st year there is more of an emphasis on your ability to memorize facts, while 2nd year requires more critical thinking. The stereotypical complaints about Western is their weakness in podiatry related courses and their lackadaisical attitude towards their student's success. It is hard for me to comment about the level of podiatry taught at westernu in comparison to other podiatry schools because I've never taken a podiatry course at another school. However I do feel like my knowledge of podiatry is subpar, but in perspective I am only a 2nd year podiatry student. In regards to WesternU reputation as being ruthless/lackadaisical/etc. towards their students I found this to be only true towards students that didn't perform well and were given multiple opportunities to prove to the faculty that their previous failures were just hiccups.

Pros: faculty, small class size, well rounded curriculum
Cons: food, parking

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user