This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Code Black

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I originally posted this in the combined degree forum but was told I may have better luck here, I am currently a pre-med student looking into combined degree programs. I am looking at MD/MBA or MD/MHA, but for this question, the combination of degrees is largely irrelevant. I am also an Army National Guard Soldier and a ROTC cadet signed to the GRFD contract. I am looking at taking MDSSP while in medical school. Can anyone give any advice or experience they may have of using the MDSSP with a combined program such as MD/MBA or any other? Specifically, would the stipend go the extra years I may need for the combination If you need any further info about my situation feel free to ask. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know the answer to your question. However, I don't really think the military is looking to pay for soldiers to get an MBA. Have you also considered doing your MBA during your residency? The time you have available kinda depends on what specialty you choose, but some academic institutions will give you free credit hours to do this (depends on where you work) while you are a resident. Would be harder work, but would also save you a year of your life + tuition + opportunity cost and extra military contract time.

As long as you match into a critical specialty the army will also push you towards taking STRAP after MDSSP. If you do that you will have additional contract time. With ROTC and then medical school how many years contract are you looking to take? I'm all in for wanting to serve a full contract, but I think you are better off with the shortest minimal contract possible. As long as you have pay back time you loose out on any other benefits that you could get such as bonuses when you stay in past your initial pay back period.

Last edited: