Clincal rotation location effect on residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kisangani

Zimbabwean940
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a student at an MD program in a Northeast state who has just finished my first year of basic sciences. Looking ahead to year three and four, I have noticed that my school allows students the option to complete certain clinical rotations in hospitals that are located in adjacent states and hence away from the school's main hospital centre. This seems like an interesting opportunity to me. However, since I would like to preferably (At least for the time being) match into a residency program in my home state where I am currently attending school, does anybody know if taking advantage of such an option would have any affect on residency prospects? In other words, do PDs look favorably upon students who have LORs and completed their rotations in the state where they would like to do their post-graduate training.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently a student at an MD program in a Northeast state who has just finished my first year of basic sciences. Looking ahead to year three and four, I have noticed that my school allows students the option to complete certain clinical rotations in hospitals that are located in adjacent states and hence away from the school's main hospital centre. This seems like an interesting opportunity to me. However, since I would like to preferably (At least for the time being) match into a residency program in my home state where I am currently attending school, does anybody know if taking advantage of such an option would have any affect on residency prospects? In other words, do PDs look favorably upon students who have LORs and completed their rotations in the state where they would like to do their post-graduate training.

#1: If they do, its like number 43,754 on the list of things they're looking for.