Choosing Premed School: Princeton vs. JHU (BME) vs. Penn vs. Rice

DonutDog1212

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
The May 1st deadline is approaching and I'm having trouble making a decision. Was hoping the SDN community could give me some insight. I'm a premed student choosing between Princeton, JHU, Penn, Rice and some other schools. From my current perspective:

Princeton:
Most "prestigious", for what that's worth
Not great for GPA

JHU (BME):
Very interested in BME, top program in the country
Not great for GPA

Penn:
Most balanced, academic and social
Some grade inflation

Rice:
140k cheaper because of scholarships
Some grade inflation

Visitied all the schools. Not super picky based on fit. Could see myself going any of these places. Would making myself miserable trying to maintain a good GPA at Princeton or JHU BME be worth it? Or should I take the easier route and money at Rice? Does choosing a more prestigious school matter for med school and future success?

Members don't see this ad.

This is a tough choice.

Honestly, if I were in your shoes, I would choose Penn. Penn is a solid school for essentially whatever you want to do and is a solid pre-med school with an affiliated hospital and research opportunities. You'll have a good support/advisory system, access to a lot of health-related resources, and probably have a solid college experience to boot.