Choosing a companion MSW Grad Certificate

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mandark321

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been accepted to grad school for my MSW. At my school, we can earn, as part of our program, either a "Graduate Certificate in Military Social Work" or a "Graduate Certificate in Marriage and Family Therapy". It's not possible to get both during the program (sadly).

The problem is I want to practice with both families and children (with a focus on abuse), military populations (since I'm a veteran myself), and the LGBT community. I plan to relocate to a different state after getting my LCSW, which has both LCSW and MFT certifications.

I was wondering what would be the better certificate to get. I want to get the other one if time and money permits (cause it's only 3 classes to get the opposite). But I was wondering which one would be better to set me up for success career-wise, in the off-chance I cannot get the 2nd cert.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I have been accepted to grad school for my MSW. At my school, we can earn, as part of our program, either a "Graduate Certificate in Military Social Work" or a "Graduate Certificate in Marriage and Family Therapy". It's not possible to get both during the program (sadly).

The problem is I want to practice with both families and children (with a focus on abuse), military populations (since I'm a veteran myself), and the LGBT community. I plan to relocate to a different state after getting my LCSW, which has both LCSW and MFT certifications.

I was wondering what would be the better certificate to get. I want to get the other one if time and money permits (cause it's only 3 classes to get the opposite). But I was wondering which one would be better to set me up for success career-wise, in the off-chance I cannot get the 2nd cert.

Thanks in advance!