Chances for Med-Peds

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Girfaroo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a 3rd year med student and not positive I want to do med-peds yet, but I have a kind of strange/adventerous career plan where I think it would help to have the combined residency rather than do family. I know med-peds is more competitive to get into than IM, family, or peds, so here are my stats:

Class rank: unknown, but probably bottom 50% :(
Step 1 score: 217
Clerkships: Passes in emergency and in family so far (missed high pass by a fraction of a percent). So far, IM has been going very well, but who knows how the shelf will go.

So as you can see, I'm not a stellar candidate. My strengths are more in how I interact with patients, I think, and that I'm more or less fluent in Spanish.

Do I have a shot? And what can I do to improve my chances at this point?

Members don't see this ad.

Are you a US MD student, DO student, or IMG? do you have a med-peds program at your home institution? They can help provide guidance, advice, and recommendations.

Your stats are not horrible ... I would probably apply broadly (and it might be difficult to get into Harvard, Yale, Duke, Penn, Chicago, UCLA) ... But there are plenty of university programs that will give you a look. There area handful of community (university affiliated) programs that are worth a look too.

Good luck. And start thinking of getting LORs from medicine faculty as well as pediatric faculty.

Are you a US MD student, DO student, or IMG? do you have a med-peds program at your home institution? They can help provide guidance, advice, and recommendations.